How I remember passwords

 

 

Some time ago, I tried to help someone whose Hotmail account had been hacked.

This person (who shall remain nameless for fear of embarrassing Nicole) used the password

STUPID….

Just the 6 letter word you understand, even the punctuation I added above would’ve made it slightly more secure.

For a password to be secure it should be at least 12 characters in length and made from a combination of numbers, letters (upper and lower case) and the various punctuation marks and other symbols on your keyboard.

But how does one remember such a complicated collection of characters without writing it down?

Easy! You DO write it down  -but in a secure way.

I have 30+ passwords of 16 characters that are written down in an easily remembered code. Some of the list looks like this:

Amazon  Gn R Blk Blu
Mozy  Gn Blk Blu Red
JobsToday Blk Blu Gn Red
voda gitwizard56 Blu Gn Blk Red

So my ‘JobsToday’ site’s username (deleted here) is followed by my password which corresponds to four groups of four characters which I remember because each group is represented by a colour – Black, blue, green and red.

Using the grid above, read the corner characters clockwise for each coloured box and my password would be

/Ca:#&)=r!?9b497

This looks incredibly complicated, but use this system for a few weeks and you will remember that ‘Green’ means r!?9 and the other groups will be just as easily remembered.

Keep your list as an email in TWO email accounts and write down the password (somewhere secure) of one of your email account passwords until you remember it!

12 thoughts on “How I remember passwords

    • I too had that problem, but got round it by including boxes in my grid (not the one above obviously) whose corners are exclusively alphanumeric.

  1. Hi,
    I’m afraid, I am one of those that write my passwords down in a small notebook that is fairly well hidden in the house. There are only a couple of passwords I know without having to go to the notebook, these are of course the ones I tend to use all the time.

    I have complex passwords that are a combination of everything, and there is no way I could remember them all, but better this way I feel, than finding out I was hacked somewhere. I have also had friends that have been hacked on Hotmail accounts, and also a couple on G-mail as well.

Leave a Reply

