scrabbling

I was listening to ‘Word of Mouth’ on BBC Radio4
yesterday.

They were reporting from the ‘Times National Spelling
Bee’ heats in Wimbledon.

One kid, the extraordinarily precocious ‘Georgia’, had a
vocabulary that would make ‘spellchecker’ redundant !

Another competitor was eliminated when spelling
‘snorkel’ incorrectly.

When one of her friends said “no, it’s one of those
underwater things”, she replied “Oh! I thought it
meant a small portion of food”.

I will now always call a snack a ‘snorckle’.

The author Lauren Child was another contributor.
She quoted some stuff from ‘Clarice Bean’.

I find the big dictionary, and go up to my
room………….I open it on Q……………..
then I go downstairs and I say :
“I don’t mean to quibble, but is it suppertime,
dinnertime or teatime? It’s just a query.
Do you ever go to Quebec?
Do we have any quince juice
as I need to quench my thirst?”
Mum says ,”No”, I ask, why do we never have
quail quiche?
She says “It makes me queasy, you sound
querulous”……………………………………………………..

6 thoughts on “scrabbling

  1. I did write loads of nonsense for this post, but completely messed it up when I tried to upload……….Doh!

    Might try to add it later.

    And i’m sure I don’t know what you mean re 70s………….

  2. Now that it looks different my comment makes even less sense than it did before – which is quite an achievement actually ……

  3. Mine too, you’ve taught me well……………

    70s reminded me of the Sussex Coven GM BTW, to be held on the nudist beach at Climping,
    27th April, dress optional.

    (please bring a goat for ritual sacrifice, don’t tell Fracas, she’ll go all PETA on us).

Leave a Reply

