scrabbling

I was listening to ‘Word of Mouth’ on BBC Radio4
yesterday.

They were reporting from the ‘Times National Spelling
Bee’ heats in Wimbledon.

One kid, the extraordinarily precocious ‘Georgia’, had a
vocabulary that would make ‘spellchecker’ redundant !

Another competitor was eliminated when spelling
‘snorkel’ incorrectly.

When one of her friends said “no, it’s one of those
underwater things”, she replied “Oh! I thought it
meant a small portion of food”.

I will now always call a snack a ‘snorckle’.

The author Lauren Child was another contributor.
She quoted some stuff from ‘Clarice Bean’.

I find the big dictionary, and go up to my
room………….I open it on Q……………..
then I go downstairs and I say :
“I don’t mean to quibble, but is it suppertime,
dinnertime or teatime? It’s just a query.
Do you ever go to Quebec?
Do we have any quince juice
as I need to quench my thirst?”
Mum says ,”No”, I ask, why do we never have
quail quiche?
She says “It makes me queasy, you sound
querulous”……………………………………………………..

Leave a Reply

