Lost in the Labyrinth

L

There seems to be a bug going round the Sussex area,
possibly all of the U.K?

Lots of people I know have gone down with it.
I’ve been lucky so far (I think my garlic-loaded diet
is protecting me – or at least keeping the poor
victims away !).

The last time I was really ill, I was working in a
warehouse.

The building is very old, with a badly leaking roof.
As a consequence of this, in many places the walls
are covered in patches of black mould, add to this the
fact that there is a blown-air heating system.
A rather unhealthy working environment.

I won’t name the company, everyone from the
owner downwards at ***** International are decent
people (except the personnel manager, he is a twat).

One day just before lunch-time, I began to feel a bit
odd. I was a little unsteady on my feet, I felt like I might
vomit. Joining my colleagues in the canteen, I realised
there was no way I could eat anything.

“What is this?” I thought.
I hadn’t eaten anything the previous evening that
could have made me ill.

Going back to my work, I hoped i’d soon feel better.
To my dismay, I began to feel worse. I had to run to
the toilets/restrooms where I was violently ill.

An hour or so later, I was being taken home by taxi
after my manager decided I was too ill to go home on the
bus.

The following day I staggered down to see my Doctor.

I described my symptoms and almost immediately she
said ” I think you have viral labyrinthitis” .

Not having a clue what this condition was, and being
quite concerned about my health (even though my Dr.
tried to reassure me, telling me it was quite common),
I consulted the internet.

According to Dr. Rob Hicks on the BBC Health site,
viral labyrinthitis :

“………is one of the most unpleasant infections you
can get.

Vertigo (which people often describe as dizziness)
can develop very suddenly – everything spins
around, or moves up and down in front of you.

This is followed by nausea, vomiting, sweating
and an urgent need to lie down.

It’s similar to a severe bout of seasickness, but much
worse. “

The comedian Marcus Brigstocke once said on ‘The Now
Show’ that seasickness has 2 stages.

  1. Firstly, you feel so ill that you worry you are going to die.
  2. Secondly, you feel so ill that you worry you are not going to die.

5 thoughts on “Lost in the Labyrinth

  1. Hi Tnkin, I was offered drugs to help, but
    Dr. Evans told me that lying down and sipping
    water would help just as much.

    Hope all is good with you and yours.

  2. Yuk …… having suffered from seasickness a couple of times Marcus’s definition is fairly accurate – so if this ‘thing’ was worserer,poor you.

    Having skippered across the Bay of Biscay several times I’m pleased to say that normally I don’t suffer from seasickness …..

  3. I had labyrinthitis 27 years ago – it lasted for 6 months and during that time I fell over so many times it was unreal – ended up with a broken arm and a black eye – it was a complete nightmare – then suddenly I was better and it was only then I realised I was expecting my daughter…. still don’t know how that happened!!
    http://www.iramble.co.uk

Leave a Reply

