Lost in the Labyrinth

L

There seems to be a bug going round the Sussex area,
possibly all of the U.K?

Lots of people I know have gone down with it.
I’ve been lucky so far (I think my garlic-loaded diet
is protecting me – or at least keeping the poor
victims away !).

The last time I was really ill, I was working in a
warehouse.

The building is very old, with a badly leaking roof.
As a consequence of this, in many places the walls
are covered in patches of black mould, add to this the
fact that there is a blown-air heating system.
A rather unhealthy working environment.

I won’t name the company, everyone from the
owner downwards at ***** International are decent
people (except the personnel manager, he is a twat).

One day just before lunch-time, I began to feel a bit
odd. I was a little unsteady on my feet, I felt like I might
vomit. Joining my colleagues in the canteen, I realised
there was no way I could eat anything.

“What is this?” I thought.
I hadn’t eaten anything the previous evening that
could have made me ill.

Going back to my work, I hoped i’d soon feel better.
To my dismay, I began to feel worse. I had to run to
the toilets/restrooms where I was violently ill.

An hour or so later, I was being taken home by taxi
after my manager decided I was too ill to go home on the
bus.

The following day I staggered down to see my Doctor.

I described my symptoms and almost immediately she
said ” I think you have viral labyrinthitis” .

Not having a clue what this condition was, and being
quite concerned about my health (even though my Dr.
tried to reassure me, telling me it was quite common),
I consulted the internet.

According to Dr. Rob Hicks on the BBC Health site,
viral labyrinthitis :

“………is one of the most unpleasant infections you
can get.

Vertigo (which people often describe as dizziness)
can develop very suddenly – everything spins
around, or moves up and down in front of you.

This is followed by nausea, vomiting, sweating
and an urgent need to lie down.

It’s similar to a severe bout of seasickness, but much
worse. “

The comedian Marcus Brigstocke once said on ‘The Now
Show’ that seasickness has 2 stages.

  1. Firstly, you feel so ill that you worry you are going to die.
  2. Secondly, you feel so ill that you worry you are not going to die.

Leave a Reply

